Key Stats for Coaches (NFL)

Serious Discussion of Football Terminology and Tactics.
This Room is named after the late Annis Stukus.

Moderator: Team Captains

Tighthead
Legend

I got this link from Football Outsiders. It is NFL content, but shows the stats that mean the most, and least, to coaches. Yards per completion, field position and red zone efficiency figure highly. link here
LFITQ
Team Captain

The Yards per Pass Attempt was an intriguing read.

I wish it had gone into more detail about how they calculate it.

Do they include passing plays that get broken up? Or is it only if they actually throw the ball?

I would estimate that as a coach I would want to know how many times we tried to throw the ball and how many yards did we gain on those plays that were designed to be passing plays. In other words, if we dropped back to pass but got sacked, then that would count as a Pass Attempt but 0 or negative yards. Also, if we dropped back to pass and the protection broke down and the QB scrmbled picking up 15 yards - how do you count that? Because I am looking at trying to rate my passing efficiency and effectiveness, I wouldn't count the positive yards gained, but I would count it as one more pass attempt.

Unfortunately I don't think the CFL stats gives us that kind of detail. What I did do was the most basic of the calculations and summed up the # of pass attempts divided by the amount of yards gained for the Lions (all persons registered with a pass attempt).

This is what I got
436 Pass Attempts
3396 Yards Gained
7.79 average yards per pass attempt.

J. Jackson = 7.9 yards per pass attempt
B. Pierce = 7.8 yards per pass attempt
D. Dickenson = 7.4 yards per pass attempt
G. Guidugli = 2.25 yards per pass attempt
I. Smart = 0 yards per pass attempt

Now just for interests sake I looked at the yards per pass completion

As a Team we are at:
244 completions
3396 yards
13.9 yards per pass completion

J. Jackson = 15.14 yards per pass completion