Tedford Eyeing Return to College

The Place for BC Lion Discussion. A forum for Lions fans to talk and chat about our team.
Discussion, News, Information and Speculation regarding the BC Lions and the CFL.
Prowl, Growl and Roar!

Moderator: Team Captains

Lions4ever
Hall of Famer

For those wondering what our 2015 one-and-done head coach might be up to these days:

http://www.seattletimes.com/sports/uw-h ... -coaching/

Say what one will, but FWIW that was Tedford's recruit that went No. 1 in the NFL draft last night.
CardiacKid
Legend

If he does end up employed as a consultant, I will be glad. The guy obviously has a touch, I guess the CFL or maybe more to the point, the Lions just weren't in his wheelhouse.

Still super curious how things wound going so sideways last year after such a big splash was made about Tedford's arrival.
Tighthead
Legend

When he was at the end at Cal, Bears fans wanted him fired because they were worried about his health. I know that was a few years ago but I think he had a very serious case of burnout.

I'm not really sure what happened in BC, but I think coaching under Wally would be difficult.

He seems like a good guy, a football lifer, and I wish him well.
David
Team Captain

And so closes one of the oddest - and shortest - chapters in Lions history. So much fanfare when he was signed (who could forget the rather awkward bouquet of roses presented to Mrs. Tedford at the locker room presser)?

Someone didn't do their homework. Either Tedford wasn't familiar with the budgets, the players (they're pros, not college kids), and the game itself - all of which seem odd given that he played up here. OR....the Lions didn't do their homework on him, perhaps so enamored that someone "of his coaching caliber" was available and willing to coach here. Perhaps the tough questions were never asked....like, "exactly how much control will I have, Wally?" :wink:

DH :cool:
Roar, You Lions, Roar
DanoT
Hall of Famer